Now Reading
China begins visa-free travel to six countries


China begins visa-free travel to six countries

China will remove visa entry requirements for citizens of Germany, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, and Malaysia today.

The new conditions will last for one year and will apply to both business and tourist trips, according to a spokesman for China’s Foreign Ministry. The decision will facilitate travel to China for many foreigners to travel to China to an unprecedented extent, though the German ambassador to China expressed hope that the new rules would eventually apply to all EU member states.

The move is seen as an attempt by China to improve its global image, which has taken a hit recently due to its relationship with Russia amid the Ukraine war. According to a recent Pew Research Center survey, views of China are largely negative across 24 countries, with a median of 67% of adults expressing unfavorable views of the country.

See Also
US Indonesia

Compared to other EU member states, Germany has maintained an ambiguous stance on China as it hopes to maintain strong trade ties. The removal of visa restrictions will likely boost investment in China from German businesses like Volkswagen, BASF, and BMW. Longer term, closer trade ties with Germany may be integral in avoiding a China-EU trade war.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top